It is the mission of the West Virginia University School of Dentistry to promote a learning environment that addresses the present and future oral health needs of the citizens of West Virginia and beyond by providing an oral health center committed to excellence and innovation in education, patient care, community service, research and technology.

The WVU School of Dentistry is the state's only dental school. Over 80% of West Virginia dentists are graduates of our DDS program. Many of the faculty and graduates are recognized leaders in dental education and organized dentistry.

A Doctor of Dental Surgery (D.D.S.) degree is offered for students who wish to become dentists. To provide students in Dentistry with the necessary clinical experience, the School of Dentistry maintains and operates dental clinics in the Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center of West Virginia University in Morgantown, West Virginia.

The Department of Dental Hygiene offers many exciting and unique learning opportunities including baccalaureate, degree completion, and masters programs. Located in Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center, the Department of Dental Hygiene is an integral part of the School of Dentistry. This association allows future dentists and dental hygienists to gain valuable experience working together in both didactic and clinical settings.

The school also offers five graduate programs that are masters programs or residency programs: Endodontics, General Practice Residency, Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery Residency, Orthodontics & Prosthodontics. All of the programs are approved by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association.

The School of Dentistry offers concurrent and dual degrees in collaboration with the School of Public Health, and the School of Business.

2014 U.S. News & World Report: The Best 100 Jobs - #3 Dentist, #10 Dental Hygienist