The West Virginia section of the Pierre Fauchard Academy held its annual meeting and awards ceremony at the WVU Erickson Alumni Center in Morgantown on May 7, 2014. Two student awards were presented. The PFA 4th Year Student Service Award for excellence in academics and the clinical aspects of the pre-doctoral dental program was awarded to Miss DoBin Choi.  The PFA 3rd Year Dental Student Scholarship was awarded to Miss MacKenzie Boyles.

The PFA WV Section Appreciation Award was presented to Dr. William “Bill” Queen of Martinsburg in recognition of his many years of service to the WVU School of Dentistry and the WVU Dental Alumni Association. Dr. Queen is currently president of the WVU Dental Alumni Association.

The PFA State Distinguished Service Award was presented to Dr. Daniel Joseph of Wheeling.  Dr. Joseph has been active in all levels of organized dentistry.  He is a past president of the WV Dental Association, and a Fellow in both the American College of Dentists and the International College of Dentistry.

Department of Endodontics adjunct faculty member, Dr. Keith Hildebrand of Huntington was inducted into the Academy becoming the newest member of the PFA WV section. Dr. Hildebrand is a past president of the West Virginia Dental Association and a Fellow in the American College of Dentists.

Award winners (left to right): Miss MacKenzie Boyles, Dr. Keith Hildebrand, Dr. Bill Queen, Miss DoBin Choi, and Dr. Daniel Joseph.